Just before you start reading; this is entirely based on personal view..

Last weekend, I happened to be at Zouk night club.
Although I have been in Singapore for a while, I am far from expert when it comes to places to go.

Hence it was my very first time going to Velvet Underground. Which just amazed me and it seemed unbelievable that their walls of the first lounge were covered in prints by Andy Warhol.

Through the entrance hallway's wall hanged prints by now-so-ultimate-pop Japanese artist; Murakami's works.
Inside the dance floor, there was a huge panel of Keith Haring's work illuminated by flickering lights. Across the room from Keith Haring was a huge panel of artwork by Brazilian artist; Roméro Britto hanging behind the bar.

It was very chic interior and the number of collection was impressive indeed: Velvet was fully equipped with modern pop art.
As much as it sure will be a good investment, those artworks seem to work magic with their interiors as well.

Of course, when you think of pop art, instantly you'll think of Andy Warhol and Keith Haring. But there are lots more, and some of those emerging pop artists are from Singapore.
As much as I enjoyed viewing the works at Velvet Underground, I do hope to see Singapore's own pop art coming out like this soon someday.
Picture
Picture



Leave a Reply.